iPod? What iPod?

7 09 2007

Hi all

Have you heard the news about the new iPod product line? Well I must admit, it is an impressive line up, all with different names! The shuffle, nano, classic and the all new impressive touch…not out just yet, but if you want to know in short, it is an iPhone (which is not available in the UK just yet either) without the phone!

Steve Jobs Keynote speech really showed how exciting it was to demonstrate the impressive new models! Just want to warn those who bought a new iPod just a few days ago, you will be in for a huge disappointment in purchasing your iPod, I would just put your Apple earphones in right now, and crank up the volume of that second generation iPod Nano and enjoy your music…the next paragraphs are things you don’t want to hear!

The two iPods I will be talking about in this blog are the Nano and Classic (I will cover the Touch another time, when I get my hands on that beauty and as for the shuffle, I will not even consider that!). The Nano is improved – bigger screen, in a great choice of colours, cover flow, video and fantastic games! The capacities are better with 4Gb and 8Gb. And now very affordable too! Mind you, these pocket iPods are attracting me and the first time round I thought the 8Gb model for £129 is not too bad!

But then there’s a problem…the Classic is pretty good too. Although not as impressive as the Nano and the fact that it looks very much like the fifth generation video iPod, it has a huge capacity – 80Gb for the lower end model…160Gb for the higher end model! Some of you probably think that’s crazy, I would never fill 80Gb with music. You are probably right…but can you fit all your music on a 8Gb Nano? My music collection and videos wouldn’t, it would be far too small. My music collection would probably fill about one tenth of the Classic! Little choice for colours – silver or black…that was a disappointment for me.

At the present time, I have no idea what iPod I should get…the Nano or the Classic, the Classic or the Nano? I look at it one way, the 8Gb Nano is £129 and for just £30 more, I could get the 80Gb Classic for £159! But is all that huge capacity worth it? I like small things…and the Nano is great for that. But then I think about fitting all my music and that’s where the Classic wins and the Nano disappoints!

Apple, what have you done? You have made consumers like me find it so hard to decide! I have the intention of getting one of these iPods in the weekend…and I still can’t make up my mind! The clock is ticking…but I have to make a choice! What would you buy? If anyone is reading this let me know…and if anyone has bought a new iPod Nano or Classic, let me know too (preferably before the end of the weekend).

I will be getting back to this subject very soon…when I get that iPod!

Thanks!

(P.S. for those who have been listening to their old generation iPods that have bought theirs just a few days ago, you can take your earphones out now!)

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 08 2008
New iPods on the cards? « David Lew’s Web

[…] Now you will probably remember last September, the iPod Nano had a new look: thinner, a bit more square and a beautiful 2.5″ screen that looks just as good as the 3.5″ screen of the iPod Classic (which I was so undecided at the time whether to get a classic or nano? See here for the details). […]

29 11 2008
New iPods on the cards? - Davers Blog (Beta)

[…] Now you will probably remember last September, the iPod Nano had a new look: thinner, a bit more square and a beautiful 2.5″ screen that looks just as good as the 3.5″ screen of the iPod Classic (which I was so undecided at the time whether to get a classic or nano? See here for the details). […]

Leave a Reply

