Leopard launch review

30 10 2007

Hi all

As promised is my Mac OS X Leopard launch review!

It was a pretty dry evening down in Brent Cross shopping centre on Friday 26th October (it would be, as it is indoors!). To make pretty sure that I arrived at the shopping centre in good time, I arrived at about 4:00pm – with 2 hours to go until the launch! At this point, the Apple Store doors were closing for the next two hours and so the glass doors were shut…what was going on? Well it was clear that they were installing Leopard on the computers and having a guided tour on the exciting new features. Some people did not know what this Leopard launch was all about!

1. The Apple Store when it closed at about 4:00pm

There were a few people waiting outside, but it did not look like a queue…and so I spent time walking about in the shopping centre…which during this time, I picked up a Mac Format magazine after finding an interesting review on the new iPod range (seems ages now since I got the iPod Touch!)

At about 5:00pm, a small queue was beginning to grow outside the Apple Store. While I looked on, a woman asked me what was happening. I explained to her that a new operating system was being launch at 6:00pm today. She asked if it was for the iPod. I said no, it is for the Mac computers. She said okay and thanked me for the information even though she didn’t quite know what I was entirely talking about…but it seemed to fascinate her.

There was this schoolkid that was enthusiastic about the launch while it appeared he was showing off his iPod Touch to someone…well that’s the first person I have seen with that cool device (I wonder if they have the new device in stock now?). I started to join the queue and patiently waited. I must have been behind about 30 people.

2. The queue builds up…

After a while with about 30 minutes to go, a few Apple staff came out to greet us asking us what we are looking forward to in Leopard…many said the Stacks feature, others were excited about Time Machine, the exciting backup program! A man in front of me told his son that this event was so big that Steve Jobs was going to appear! Now that was a joke! He even asked me if I had been to the Tiger launch…no was my answer considering that it was released about 2 years ago (and I didn’t even use a Mac back then)!!!

The Apple staff were very nice offering some nice Starbucks coffee. They had ran out of milk and sugar though, so I had to sip the bitter taste of that coffee…

3. My Starbucks coffee!

Behind me, the queue was getting ever so long as they went around the edge of the aisles and as you can see from the picture, it was really long! In fact to make it exciting, a cameraman went around to show how long the crowd really was! For one brief moment, he seemed to trip over the bin down the other side…he should be more careful next time!

4. The queues are so long!

But the countdown was on and as the last 10 seconds were counted, in went the crowd…the Apple Store had now reopened! As I entered the store, I received an exclusive Leopard t-shirt! Cool! Then I asked a member of staff to give me a copy of the Family Pack of Mac OS X Leopard which I received immediately…and the picture is the proof!

5. I have got it!!!

When I got to the till, I paid for the software and was told to enjoy the exciting new features…what more could I say? Thank you!

It was so busy! The store was full of people trying out the new operating system on the shiny iMacs and Macbooks that were dotted in the store…there were so many people trying that I didn’t get a chance to have a look!

6. The store is busy!

7. People trying Leopard on the iMacs!

As I left the store with so much joy in getting Leopard, I thought I would take some shots of the queues outside the store…and evidently there were loads more waiting. It just shows you how many Mac fans are out there to buy the software. I have never seen such a successful launch event!

8. More wait outside the Apple Store

Did anyone go to the Leopard launch events? What did you think? Write a review and let me know!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

