My thoughts on iPhone 3G

5 08 2008

Hi all

I thought it was time to give you a short review of what I think of the iPhone 3G.  In summary, all I can say at this stage is, it is fantastic!  Since my last review, Apple have made some improvements to the updated model.  Among the new features include…

1. 3G – It is fast!  I have tried web browsing while on the walking out and about and when 3G works, it loads web pages pretty well.  A great improvement to EDGE which took ages to load…you can’t hang around can you?

2. Maps with GPS – A major improvement to this excellent application!  As well as the excellent Google Maps, there is a GPS built in!  I tried it outside and navigated and it works pretty well.  Doesn’t work too well indoors, but it certainly worked when I was outside in several places.

3. App Store – Now you can download applications to the App Store!  This is a fantastic way to customise your iPhone!  I will review this feature in a future blog entry.

These are the major new features…there are improvements including a search feature in Contacts (including unusually enough a separate Contacts application (duplicated in the Phone application)), a new Calculator with standard (portrait) and scientific (landscape) and the ability to save images in both Safari and Mail!

There is still a lot more I have to try, but so far, I can honestly say that it was worth the upgrade.  It was so easy to transfer the SIM from the original iPhone to the iPhone 3G and activation was far more easier than before!

So I think it is a good phone…but what do you think of the iPhone 3G?  Do you like it?  Let me know!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

